You ALL Need To Try KT77's - (NO---I Am NOT a Salesman)

for Dynaco Mark II/III/IV and DIY PP monoblocks

You ALL Need To Try KT77's - (NO---I Am NOT a Salesman)

Postby pferrari » Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:59 pm

OK---to let you all know, I am fairly new to Shannon's diytube site.
This is great! I am already hooked on the brand new Poseidon driver board for the Dynaco MK4. I have been wanting to build up an old amp for a long time as a hobby, both for the experience and the fun.

I will post pictures and details as the project progresses. At this point I have gutted the amps COMPLETELY, and have sent the chassis out to be re-chromed along with the bell covers off the transformers. OK, OK---I want them to be pretty too.

What I really wanted to talk about were some tubes. The KT77 tubes being re-introduced by JJ Electronics:
http://www.jj-electronic.sk/pdf/KT77.pdf

In a word-------INCREDIBLE!!

Now for you younger generation, the KT77 was a little know tube mad for the military as a VERY RELIABLE and INDESTRUCTIBLE replacement for the EL34. Here are a few details: http://www.mclink.it/com/audiomatica/tubes/kt77.htm.

The other good news is it will withstand much higher plate voltages, is DEAD QUIET, and any "microphonics" problems are eliminated.

The great thing is this tube sounds FABULOUS, and better than any NOS Mullard! Go out and try to price some NOS KT77 tubes and it's enough to give you a heart attack.

The KT77 is designed primarily for use under ultra-linear conditions (43% taps, Class AB1 push-pull) and this connection is recommended. Similiar performance can be obtained in the tetrode connected mode, but the output impednace (zout) will be higher. Life expectancy=5000 hours when operated at maximum ratings of 32W, or 10,000 hours when operated at the 25W ratings of most Dynaco amps (MK2, MK4, or ST-70).

The original KT77 tubes are very rare, and are a direct replacement for the EL34 or 6CA7.